Recipe: This Easter I will have my cake and eat it!

Yes I know… this proverb usually carries negative connotations but this week I’m leaning on the side of glass half full as I celebrate the fact that I can indeed have it both ways. I’ve spent the past few days awaiting the results of a glucose test and worse still the last few weeks avoiding all things sugary and sumptious much to my dismay, especially as I’ve recently been back home to England where I was confronted, quite literally, with “a few of my favourite things”.

Had you been a fly on the wall you’d have seen me turn down rhubarb pie (my absolute favourite!), home-made fruit cake and a meringue pavlova. My one concession was Sunday lunch with my nanna as when an eighty something makes you a fruit meringue roulade it would be rude not to accept!

So now, after a week of making Easter treats and abstaining from tasting, I can finally eat them!! So what better way to celebrate Easter than with a super chocolately Easter cake topped with lashings of butter icing and decorated with chocolate shavings and mini eggs?


After such a drought on sugar I could be excused for devouring everything in arms reach but I should perhaps explain that I’ll not be alone in eating my cake so if you’re imagining a food frenzy and scenes of a 9 1/2 weeks you’d be wrong! The reality is much more Mary Poppins as we’ll be spending the weekend with friends and their 3 children and another couple and their newborn so my chocolate cake, hot cross buns and chocolate crispies should go down a treat.

Ingredients: 175g softened butter, 175g soft brown sugar, 150g plain flour, 1 heaped tsp of baking powder, 3 large eggs (room temperature), 1 tbsp milk, 1 tsp vanilla essence, 3 tbsp cocoa powder. For the icing: 100g softened butter, 100g icing sugar, 1 tbsp cocoa, 2 tbsp milk and mini eggs or similar for decoration.

Preparation: 20 mins + 20 mins cooking

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C and prepare 2 round cake tins (c. 18cm) or if you prefer 1 large tin (c. 20cm as per above picture). I favour silicone baking tins as the cake never sticks.
  2. In a large mixing bowl and using a wooden spoon cream the butter and sugar together until soft and slightly fluffy.
  3. Beat in 1 egg at a time and finally the milk and vanilla essence.
  4. Using a metal spoon, fold in the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder and mix well until smooth and the cocoa is well mixed in.
  5. Spoon into your baking tins and place in the center of the oven for c. 20 mins. To check if fully cooked insert a skewer or cocktail stick into the centre of the cake and if it comes out clean the cake is cooked.

6.  Leave to cool in the tins before eventually turning out onto a wire rack.

7.  Once cool, prepare the icing by creaming the sugar before stirring in the icing sugar. Heat the milk gently in the microwave (or in a pan) and stir in the cocoa powder. Add this mix to the butter and icing sugar and cream together. Add in extra icing sugar if your mix is too runny as you don’t want it running off the cake.

8.  Top of with decorations of your choice; mini eggs, chocolate shavings, cocoa powder etc

All that remains to be said is “Happy Easter” and enjoy having your cake and eating it, I certainly will!

Comments
3 Responses to “Recipe: This Easter I will have my cake and eat it!”
  1. trialsinfood says:

    The cake looks yummy! And from personal experience, you definitely can’t say no to nanna.

  2. Now that really does look perfect for Easter – chocolate and lots of it. You’ve won yourself a new follower for sure :D.

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

