Recipe: Hooray for potatoes with home-made Fish & Chips

I’m just back from a 3 day trip to Dublin and similar to my trips back home to the UK I always return to Italy craving certain foods. An obvious one with Ireland is potatoes. I love potatoes in every form; mashed, baked, chipped, roasted, boiled and often wonder at how easily I’ve abandoned the humble spud for Italian staples of pasta and rice. In my defence the UK and Ireland have a much wider range of spuds each tastier than the next whilst I find the Italian cousin a lesser contender in the taste stakes (I’m sure hundreds of Italians will now rubbish this last statement!!) . Truthfully there are quite simply different varieties and different tastes in each country and I’m loyal to my Maris Pipers, Desiree, Charlotte, New, King Edwards and so forth. I’ve also discovered that there is a Lady Claire variety, ideal for crisps, which I shall be investigating to see if my namesake lives up to expectations. In short, we have potatoes for every season and every type of dish and as I discovered at Christmas, with my disappointing Italian roasties, you can’t always replicate.

Ironically on this trip to Dublin I barely touched a potato aside from one lunch at great eatery “Crack Bird” where alongside my chilli chicken I endulged in some waffle chips and feta cheese dip. But the potato is never far from sight and the next day as I savoured my all day breakfast, with yum both black and white pudding, at Rathmine’s local cafe a man on a neighbouring table ordered Fish and Chips and I was suddenly hit with the urge. Alas there are only so many meals in the day and much as I’d have liked to eat my way through all my favourite foods there simply wasn’t enough time on this trip so Fish and Chips were temporarily put on hold until last night when I conjured up my own version.

Breaded Fish & Chips

Ingredients for 2 people: 2 fillets of cod (or fish of choice), 1 egg, breadcrumbs, 1 lemon, 2-3 good sized chipping potatoes, oil for frying / baking

Preparation: 10 mins + c.30 mins cooking (for oven chips)

  1. Cut the potatoes into chunky sized chips (I like my with skin on but you can peel if you prefer). Parboil in a pan of salted boiling water for 5-10 minutes.
  2. Drain and leave to dry for a few minutes before oven baking in oil for 30-40 mins. If you prefer to shallow / deep fry then you can do so in a fryer or pan.
  3. Crack the egg into a shallow bowl and whisk with a fork. Use to dip the fish before coating with breadcrumbs.
  4. Fry the fish in a shallow fry pan with the oil.
  5. Serve with a wedge of lemon and tartar sauce (if you have it).

Tip: I used the last of the egg and breadcrumbs to make some breaded zucchini chips on the side. Fry for a minute on each side for a yummy addition to your dish.

For more info on British spud varieties and for tips on growing your own visit http://varieties.potato.org.uk/menu.php

Crack Bird – 60 Dame Street, Dublin 2

Comments
One Response to “Recipe: Hooray for potatoes with home-made Fish & Chips”
  1. Hooray! Looks great, I particularly like home made wedges 🙂

Leave a Reply

