Who knew that “going Greek” could be so rude!

Sometimes curiosity can definitely get the better of you as I discovered today when I decided to google “going Greek” to see if it had any meaning. My reason for this google search was quite innocent as I thought I might find a little nugget to accompany my post on Greek salad but I wasn’t quite ready for what I found.

On the lighter side “going Greek” can have a similar meaning to “going Dutch” only that in the case of the Greek no bills are shared and the invitee cops the lot, much like the Greece-Euro bailout as the urban dictionary kindly puts it! On the ruder side “going Greek” also refers to a rather compromising sexual position with lube or better still Greek olive oil required which until now had escaped my knowledge. Who knew! It certainly put a new twist on my thoughts at lunch today as I sat eating my Greek salad!

Ingredients for 4: 1 large cucumber, 4 large salad tomatoes, 1 pack 150g Feta, 1/4 red onion or 2 red spring onions, Greek olives, oregano (fresh or dried), salt & pepper, olive oil, red wine vinegar

Preparation: 10-15 mins

1. Wash and partially peel the cucumber (stripes) so you have some flashes of green but not the full skin. Chop into large uneven chunks to create texture in the salad.

2. Wash the tomatoes, half and cut out the point where the stem enters the tomato (Call me superstitious but I was always told to do this as if tomatoes are treated using pesticides then this is where the chemicals enter). Chop into chunky slices and then half again till you have bite sized chunks.

3. In a large salad bowl add the tomatoes and cucumber and toss in as many greek olives as you desire. If you don’t have greek olives then the recipe can work just as well with other varieties. I favour a mix between black olives and stuffed green olives with pimento.

4. Thinly slice the 1/4 red onion or the red spring onions and toss into the salad along with some freshly chopped oregano or finely ground dried oregano.

5. Dress with olive oil, a splash of red wine vinegar and salt and pepper. Mix well before finally adding in your chopped Feta. I always add it last so that it doesn’t get too beaten up when you toss the salad.

6. I ate mine with a chunk of wholemeal foccacia to mop my plate but a good piece of crusty bread will do nicely.

If curiosity gets the better of you and you want to find out what a term really means then check out the urban dictionary.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=going+greek

Comments
One Response to “Who knew that “going Greek” could be so rude!”
  1. Great post 😀 That looks wonderful. I absolutely adore olives.

Leave a Reply

