Olympics, Olivia and the Golden crème de la crème of desserts

I may have been a little quiet online in the past couple of weeks but life off line has become considerably more hectic with the birth of my first child Olivia, and for me the Olympics couldn’t have come at a better time as I now dedicate considerable hours to feeding on the sofa. My new recruit to Team GB has already been flying the flag with her super trendy and slightly large Team GB hat (Thank you Susan!) and competition is hotting up in our household as Italy and GB go head to head in the medal table. Luckily our rowers and the invincible Bradley Wiggins helped our cause yesterday although Italy still sit in 7th to our 11th and daddy Sambolino is milking it (excuse the pun!) for all it’s worth.

So back to food and as promised here is my first attempt at a creme caramel which I made using the egg yolks left over from my rhubarb and peach roulade.

I heard an interesting fact the other day about the number of eggs consumed by athletes on a recent training camp which entered the 1000’s and as a source of high protein I can see why it’s their food of choice. I often find that I have periods when I crave eggs as if my body knows what it needs and this dessert definitely answers that call.

I actually combined two recipes for creme caramel and creme brulee to make my dessert as I was, as ever, doing everything last minute and so had to adapt the recipes according to the contents of my fridge. The end result was that my version of creme caramel was a little lighter and less eggy than the norm which I rather liked. The creme brulee recipe used just the egg yolks which I had left over as opposed to the creme caramel recipe which used 4 whole eggs.

Claire’s Creme Caramel

Ingredients: 4 egg yolks, 115g brown sugar, 150ml water, 568ml (1 pint) milk, 1 tsp of vanilla essence

Preparation: 20 mins + 1 1/2 hours baking + Chilling

1. The first step to making the creme caramel is the caramel layer which lines the bowl. Place the water and 100g sugar in a pan and bring to the boil stirring to ensure that the sugar fully dissolves. Keep boiling until the mixture reduces down and turns a deep golden colour. Pour into your serving bowl and make sure you cover all of the base.

2. In a seperate mixing bowl whisk the egg yolks, the remaining sugar and the vanilla essence.

3. Heat the milk (in the microwave) and combine with the egg mix.

4. Pour over the caramel mix and stand the serving dish in a roasting tin half full of water so that once placed in the oven the creme caramel bakes in water.

5. Bake at 170C for c. 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until set. Cooking times may vary oven to oven.

6. Once baked leave to cool before placing in the fridge to set.

7. Once cold turn out of the serving dish so that the caramel runs over the rest of the dessert.

A golden dessert fit for our gold medal winners. Come on Team GB!

Comments
2 Responses to “Olympics, Olivia and the Golden crème de la crème of desserts”
  1. Karen says:

    Congratulations on the birth of your little daughter. Your dessert sounds good…lighter and less eggy works for me.

Leave a Reply

