Coconut Boobies. A fairly healthy sweet treat!

So it’s a new year and a new start for many as new year resolutions and diets are top of the agenda. My own resolution is to pick up where I left off on my exercise regime and continue eating healthily. I’m not a fan of diets and as such could never willingly give up anything but I do try and reduce fats every now and then and eat more sensible things. Having indulged over christmas there is no better time to out this philosophy into action.

Coconut boobies, or pyramids as they are more commonly known, are a childhood favourite and one of the easiest sweets to make. With just 3 ingredients and just 2 minutes for mixing there is none of the hard work that other cakes require. Affectionately know as coconut boobies in our house for their uncanny resemblance to, wait for it, “boobs” they are a healthy-ish fat free cake that should fit in with most healthy eating plans.

After a mincemeat marathon over christmas I ressurected this recipe to have a change of taste and something quick and easy to hand for a mid morning or afternoon snack. My neighbour’s youngest daughter Matilda is a lover of coconut and was on hand as “chief taster”. As I attempted to explain (in Italian) our pet name for these cakes I realised that I’d bitten off more then I could chew so she now no doubt thinks I am some mad English woman talking about boobs but at least the coconut pyramids got the thumbs up!

Coconut Boobies

Coconut Boobies 1

Ingredients:   225g dessicated Coconut, 2 eggs, 120g caster sugar

Preparation: 2 mins * 20 mins chilling and 25-30 mins baking

1. Mix all of the ingredients together and leave to chill in the fridge for c. 20 mins.

2. Prepare a baking tray with grease proof paper and heat oven to 180C.

3. Dip hands in cold water and shape mixture into mini pyramids / balls.

4. I put cranberries on the top of mine but you can leave plain or use other fruit such as glacee cherries.

5. Bake for c. 25-35 mins until golden in colour.

6. Once chilled, store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

