A Fish-off with my brother!

As so often happens when I come back to the UK I spend days on end lunching and dining out as I do the rounds catching up with friends and family. I usually start off loving it as I overdose on all the things I can’t easily find in Italy; Indian, Asian, Mexican, not to mention good old Cornish pasties, pies and Sunday roast at my nanna’s but towards the end I want nothing more than the comforts of dinner at home.

Luckily for me, dinner at home is akin to dining out thanks to my family’s love of experimenting but with all the comfort of not having to leave the house and being able to drink!

This trip has been no different and my brother and I have continued our fish-off from my last visit when I cooked him fresh scallops, cod and king prawns. He returned the favour 2 nights ago with a delicious tuna steak served with a tomato, red onion and crouton salad with red wine and olive oil vinaigrette. This was followed by a salmon salad which perhaps doesn’t sound overly adventurous but a mixture of feta, salami and fresh leaf salad made for a tasty summer salad.

Tonight it was my turn and I kicked off with a warm potato and octopus salad. After lovingly simmering my octopus in white wine for 11/2 hours I added in small chopped potato pieces and continued simmering till cooked. I chopped the octopus into bite-sized chunks and tossed both in olive oil, freshly squeezed lemon juice, capers, black and green olives. A twist of sea salt and black pepper from the shakers and voila, a delicate octopus starter. Stupidly we forgot to take any photos as we were all too busy tucking in but we did snap our miniature main of seared tuna on a bed of oriental salad. Delicious. Long live the fish-off! Till the next time…

20130604-215153.jpg

20130604-215233.jpg

Seared tuna steak on oriental salad
Ingredients: Tuna steak, mange tout, fresh coriander, 1 red pepper, 1 lime (zest and juice), 1 red chilli, fresh ginger, sesame seeds, sesame oil
Preparation:
1. Blanche the mange tout and red pepper (sliced) for 2-3 minutes and then cool under cold water so that they remain crunchy and don’t continue to cook.
2. Chop the coriander, chilli, ginger. Zest and squeeze the lime.
3. Roast or fry the sesame seeds in a dry pan (no oil).
4. Combine all the ingredients together and plate.
5. Heat a fry or griddle pan on a high heat and put the tuna steak on to cook. After 2-3 minutes turn and cook the same on the second side. Remove from heat whilst still rare in the centre and leave to rest for 10 minutes. Slice finely and season before placing on top of the salad.

Comments
3 Responses to “A Fish-off with my brother!”
  1. katy says:

    Sounds yummy. We have been eating octopus salad here, they cook it more simply and vinagrette just home-made olive oil & vinegar with tomatoes and onion

Leave a Reply

