A Lemony drizzley dream!

I recently revived my childhood favourite dessert of Lemon meringue pie and whilst on a roll with my love of lemons I have since turned to a Mary Berry Lemon Drizzle dream. The great thing with a tray bake, as I discovered, is that you literally bung all in the ingredients together and beat. Hooray! I have spent years avoiding sponge cakes as I just didn’t have the knack of making them rise but having fallen in love with the nations cake queen Mary Berry and The Great British bake off I have decided that its time to dust off my pinny and embrace baking.

This recipe is incredibly lemony and incredibly easy. You can potentially tweak the amounts of lemon and sugar to adjust the sweetness or sharpness to your tastes. Having successfully make my first lemon drizzle I would push fo some extra zing next time round by adding in more zest and more lemon juice in the drizzle. I think the recipe would work just as well with other citrus fruits so I shall no doubt be bring you an orange drizzle and grapefruit drizzle sometime soon. I may not yet be the queen of spongy bakes but this is definitely a step in the right direction.

Lemon Drizzle Cake

Ingredients:

225g softened butter, 225g caster sugar, 275g self raising flour, 2 tsp baking powder, 4 eggs, zest of 2 lemons for the drizzle: juice of 2 lemons, 175g granulated sugar.

Preparation: 10 mins prep and c 30-40 mins baking

1. Firstly prepare a baking tray of c. 30x23cm in dimension with a depth of at least 4-5cm with parchment paper or alternatively use a non stick tray.

2. In a large bowl add in all the ingredients together and beat well for a few minutes until perfectly blended.

3. Pour into your baking tray and bake in the center of a pre-heated oven at 180C for 30-40 minutes until golden and coming away from the edges of the tray.

Lemon drizzle cake

4.  Leave to cool for a couple of minutes before turning out onto a wire rack.

5. In a small pan or bowl blend the lemon juice and granulated sugar.

Lemon drizzle

6. Prick the top of the cake all over to create a series of small holes and then pour the drizzle over whilst the cake is still warm.

7. Leave to cool fully and then store in an airtight tin (not forgetting to enjoy a generous slice of cake for yourself before locking it away!).

Leave a Reply

