Chicken, Leek & Celeriac Pie for National Pie Week

So it’s National Pie Week and I love pie and have some left over roast chicken to finish so it feels like something of a no-brainer to rustle up a little something.

A good hearty pie is equal to a good roast dinner to my mind with the added bonus of pastry! If I indulged as much as I would like to I’d no doubt look like a pie so I try to limit my pastry intake but…..oh it’s soo delicious!

Now I’m taking a shortcut and using a pack of ready rolled puff pastry to top my pie but if you look back at previous posts you’ll find recipes for home-made puff, flan and pâté sablee. Home-made pastry is especially delicious but shop bought has improved so much in recent years that it’s a great quick alternative when speed is of the essence.

All good pies deserve a surprise ingredient and I have a particular penchant for celeriac, that little used root vegetable also know as knob celery and favoured by the French. I have fond childhood memories of holidays in France eating celeriac in mayonnaise (posh coleslaw!) and peeling prawns. It has gradually become more and more popular, especially in celeriac mash, but celeriac still remains something of an under used enigma. With a taste reminiscent of celery but with the consistency of a turnip it’s a great root to use in winter stews and soups as well as pie.

I should add that my attempts at decorating my pie to make it look nice and rustic failed miserably but please don’t let that deter you!

Chicken, Leek & Celeriac Pie

Ingredients: 1/2 a left over roast chicken (originally for 2-4 people), 1/2 celeriac, 1 red onion, 2 leeks, chopped fresh parsley, 100g butter, 1/2 litre milk, 2 tbsp flour, salt and pepper, olive oil

Preparation: 20 mins + 40 mins cooking.

1. Chop the onion, leek and celeriac and sautee in olive oil for 5-10 mins until softened. Then pour into your pie dish so you can use the pan for making a light bechamel sauce.

BAR_9417

2. Melt the butter and stir in the flour to form a paste. Stir in the milk stirring all the time (make sure the milk is cold) and keep stirring until the sauce has thickened.

BAR_9421

3. Add in the parsley and season with salt and pepper. The Bechamel should be thick enough to coat the other ingredients without being too gloopy.

BAR_9422

4. Add in the other ingredients including the cooked chicken and mix well.

Chicken, Leek & celeriac pie mix

5. Put all the ingredients in a pie dish and cover with your pastry.

Chicken, Leek & Celeriac pie mix 2

6. Bake at c. 190C for 35-40 minutes or until the pie is golden.

Chicken, Leek & Celeriac Pie baked

7. Serve with your choice of side. I ate mine with mini roast potatoes and broccoli. The good thing with the bechamel is that you shouldn’t need a gravy with this dish as the pie is lovely and moist.

Chicken, Leek & Celeriac Pie plated

Comments
4 Responses to “Chicken, Leek & Celeriac Pie for National Pie Week”
  1. I am with you on store bought puff pastry. Chicken pie is one of my favorites and yours looks delicious.I have never used celeriac in a pie, so I will have to try that.

  2. Karen says:

    Your chicken pie sounds delicious…especially with the celeriac and leek.

Leave a Reply

