From lemon drizzle to orange delight…another drizzle!

Well I warned you! After my lemon drizzle comes an orange-tastic delight and I predict that before long they’ll also be a grapefruit version joining the family!

What I really loved about making this cake the first time round was just how simple it was. One bowl. All the ingredients together. And mix. This really takes home baking to a new level for family and work-tired people who want to eat fresh produce without all the kerfuffle of more classical recipes.

As I predicted, having started with a lemon drizzle I was then curious to see how it may work as an orange drizzle. My heart still votes for lemon as I like the sharpness that comes with it but I made this orange version for friends with a sweeter tooth an it was a great success. I also had more fun decorating with orange peel that I caramlised in sugar water. You could also cheat and decorate with orange jellies or peel that you find in most supermarkets.

BAR_9281

Ingredients: 225g softened butter, 225g caster sugar, 275g self raising flour, 2 tsp baking powder, 4 eggs, zest of 2 small oranges for the drizzle: juice of 2 small oranges 175g granulated sugar.

Plus: some orange peel for decoration

Preparation: 10 mins prep and c 30-40 mins baking

1. Firstly prepare a baking tray of c. 30x23cm in dimension with a depth of at least 4-5cm with parchment paper or alternatively use a non stick tray.

2. In a large bowl add in all the ingredients together and beat well for a few minutes until perfectly blended.

3. Pour into your baking tray and bake in the center of a pre-heated oven at 180C for 30-40 minutes until golden and coming away from the edges of the tray.

4. Leave to cool for a couple of minutes before turning out onto a wire rack.

BAR_9280

5. In a small pan or bowl blend the orange juice and granulated sugar.

6. Prick the top of the cake all over to create a series of small holes and then pour the drizzle over whilst the cake is still warm.

7. Use the same pan to then cook off some orange peel for the decoration with a tablespoon of water and sugar.

BAR_9279

8. Add this in any artistic way that you like to the centre of your cake. Leave to cool fully and then store in an airtight tin. It’s a very moist caske so really important that it is stored well and in a cool room.

9. Or if you can’t resist, eat a generous slice whilst still slightly warm!

Comments
4 Responses to “From lemon drizzle to orange delight…another drizzle!”
  1. Oh, my kind of cake, Claire, not too sweet with a citrus flavor.

  2. Charisma says:

    Mmm that looks soo good and moist!

  3. Karen says:

    This is my husband’s favorite kind of cake, simple without being too sweet. I’m with you if both cakes were being served, I might go for the lemon because I love its tart flavor…then I’d probably ask for a sliver of the orange. 🙂

Leave a Reply

