Asparagus Tart with semi-confit cherry tomatoes

I’ve fallen in love with these semi-confit cherry tomatoes which I used to decorate my asparagus tart. They look amazing, taste amazing and are so simple to prepare. I think they may become my official dish decorator for 2014 as they transform everything into an art piece!!

Confit Cherry Tomatoes

And whilst I’m busy raving I should also state that the asparagus tart tasted pretty good too. So asparagus season is nearly over but you can still find some lingering in the fruit and vege shop. I love the taste of fresh asparagus and usually eat it simple with a touch of butter and black pepper but it does lend itself very well to flans and tarts as looks quite visually stunning.

As I’ve just embarked on my masters in nutrition I’ve now taken to studying the nutritional information of everything I prepare so I can tell you that asparagus is rich in Vitamin A (good for vision, growth and the immune system) and Iron and also a good source of fibre. It’s still early days on my path to study so I won’t pretend to be any more informed than this but hopefully in the not too distant future my recipes will reflect a little more nutritional expertise. For now simply enjoy a great tasting tart.

Ingredients: 1 packet of flan pastry or 260g pate brisee, 1 bunch of asparagus, 4 eggs, 250g natural yoghurt, nutmeg, salt & pepper, for the confit tomatoes bunch of cherry tomatoes on the vine, olive oil, bay leaf, garlic clove, 2 sprigs thyme.

Preparation: 50 mins + cooling time for the tomatoes.

1. In a small pan place the cherry tomatoes and cover fully in the olive oil and add in the bay leaf, garlic clove and sprigs of thyme.

2. Slowly bring to up to temperature without reaching boiling point (this should take c. 10-15 mins depending on how many tomatoes you use).

Poaching confit tomatoes

3. Once hot remove from the heat and leave to cool fully.

4.Tail your asparagus e.g. break of the hard part of the asparagus tail. The best method is to break by hand as it naturally breaks where it becomes woody. Blanch in a flat pan of boiling, lightly salted, water for c. 3 mins then drain.

Blanched asparagus

5. Roll out your pastry or take your ready rolled pastry and line the base of a standard flan tart. It can be round or rectangular although rectangular is slightly easier for accomodating the shape of the asparagus.

6. Line the pastry with the asparagus.

Asparagus flan

7. In a bowl, beat the eggs with the yoghurt, nutmeg, salt and pepper and then pour the mix onto the asparagus.

8. Bake the flan at 180-190C for c. 30 mins until nicely browned.

Asparagus tart

9. Leave to cool slightly and then decorate with the confit tomatoes. Leave the tomatoes on the vine and drape across the tart for a rustic look. (Unfortunately I have no final photo as I was taking my tart to friends for lunch so I took my confit tomatoes in a seperate tupperware and decorated once there).

Comments
3 Responses to “Asparagus Tart with semi-confit cherry tomatoes”
  1. I love vegetable tarts or quiches.This is a wonderful combination of spring vegetables.

  2. giorgio.napolitano@libero.it says:

    mi è piaciuta proverò a farla ciao titta

Leave a Reply

